Four Pirates Set for NCAA T&F Championships

Four Pirates Set for NCAA T&F Championships

GENEVA, Ohio – Four Whitworth University student athletes are competing this week at the 2019 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track and Field Championships Thursday through Saturday at the SPIRE Institute.

Nick McGill will participate in the decathlon and javelin.  Marissa Mount will race in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and Kayla Rambo will throw the discus.  Izzy Clark will spend two days on the heptathlon.

Click here for the NCAA Division III host website.  There are also links for live results and live video on the Whitworth track and field schedule.

In addition to the four athletes already named, Nathaniel Drotts and Jacob Hubbard earned All-Region recognition from the USTFCCCA.

McGill heads into the meet with the third-best entry mark in the javelin.  He threw 62.67 meters (205'-7") at the NWC Championships last month.  McGill is seeded fifth in the decathlon with a score of 6763.  McGill earned All-America honors in the decathlon last season as a sophomore.

Mount is also a returning All-American in the women's steeplechase.  She finished fourth a year ago and her current mark of 10:43.75 is the second-best entry time at this season's championship.

Rambo, making her NCAA Championships debut, is seeded 16th in the discus with a distance of 44.70 meters (146'-8").

Clark returns as an All-American in the heptathlon.  Her 2019 score of 4822 is fourth heading into the meet.  Clark also posted times/marks that would have qualified in the 100-meter hurdles, the 400-meter hurdles and the javelin, but the meet schedule did not allow her to compete in any of those other events, in addition to the heptathlon.

Each of the above four athletes claimed NCAA West Region honors.  Drotts also earned recognition in the pole vault and Hubbard in the hammer throw.  An individual earns all-region by finishing with one of the top-five marks in an event in his or her region.

Pirate Qualifiers and Schedule of Events:

Thursday, May 23
All Day – Nick McGill, Decathlon
All Day – Isabel Clark, Heptathlon
12:30 pm EDT / 9:30 am PDT – Kayla Rambo, women's discus
5:25 pm EDT / 2:25 pm PDT – Marissa Mount, women's 3000-meter steeplechase prelims

Friday, May 24
All Day – Nick McGill, Decalthlon
All Day – Isabel Clark, Hepthatlon
5:15 pm EDT / 2:15 pm PDT – Nick McGill, men's javelin

Saturday, May 25
11:30 am EDT / 9:30 am PDT – Marissa Mount, 3000-meter steeplechase finals