Pirate Men Extend Lead, Siegler Sets NWC Record

Pirate Men Extend Lead, Siegler Sets NWC Record

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. – The Whitworth University men won four events on Saturday night to take a commanding lead at the 2019 Northwest Conference Swimming Championships, while Jamie Siegler set an NWC record for the Pirate women.

Byron Rossmiller won twice for Whitworth's men.  He opened the night with a victory in the 400-yard individual medley with a time of 4:11.04.  He closed it with a winning time of 50.55 in the men's 100-yard backstroke, the last individual event of the night.

Ryan Grady claimed his second individual title of the meet when he pulled away in the final 25 yards for a victory in the 100-yard breaststroke with an NCAA provisional qualifying time of 55.95.  Grady also won the 500 free on Friday night.  Owen Lempert finished third (57.12) and Jake Davies was seventh (58.81) for the Bucs, while Alexander Henderson won the consolation final with a time of 59.81.

The Pirate men closed the night with a victory in the 200-yard freestyle relay.  Lempert, Andrew Gonzales, Tristan Todd and Eben Schumann posted a winning time of 1:24.28.

Also on Saturday, Schuman finished second in the 100-yard butterfly to Linfield's Noah Cutting 48.67 – 48.76 in the closest race of the night.  Todd took seventh in that race with a 51.91.

Nearly as close was the dual between Whitworth's Finn McClone and Puget Sound's Brett Kolb in the 200-yard freestyle.  Kolb held off McClone 1:41.52 – 1:41.61. Both are freshman.  Logan Todd won the consolation final for the Bucs with a time of 1:44.16.

The men's scores heading into the meet's final day are: Whitworth 452.5, Linfield 324, Whitman 286, Puget Sound 272, Lewis & Clark 219, Pacific Lutheran 216, Willamette 179, George Fox 174.5, Pacific (Ore.) 97.

Siegler smoked the field in the women's 100 breaststroke during the morning preliminaries with a new NWC record and NCAA qualifying time of 1:03.50.  She followed that up with a time of 1:03.62 in the finals to claim the Pirates' first individual title of the women's meet.

Hannah Galbraith followed right after with a come-from-behind victory in the 100 backstroke, posting a winning time of 56.60 to break her own school record.

Earlier in the night Eve Vetter finished fourth in the 400 I.M. with a time of 4:40.97, while Olivia Cox was sixth (4:46.44) and Jessica Defiesta was seventh (4:48.02).  Puget Sound's Kelli Callahan won in 4:26.70.

Calahan won again in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:52.33.  Marissa Gibson (2:01.37) was eighth for the Bucs while Isabella Hackney took 11th place (1:58.83).

Whitworth finished fourth in the 200 free relay.  Siegler, Hackney, Vetter and Galbraith posted a time of 1:38.98.  Linfield won with a time of 1:36.95.

The Pirate women fell out of first place in the standings on Saturday night.  The women's team scores are now: Linfield 370, Whitman 364, Whitworth 337, Pacific Lutheran 290, Puget Sound 257, Lewis & Clark 231, Willamette 173, George Fox 152, Pacific (Ore.) 82.

The meet concludes on Sunday with the 1,650-yard freestyle, 200-yard backstroke, 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard breaststroke, 200-yard butterfly and the 400-yard freestyle relay.