Whitworth Claims Record 9th Straight NWC All-Sports Trophy

Whitworth Claims Record 9th Straight NWC All-Sports Trophy

SPOKANE, Wash. – Whitworth University has captured the Northwest Conference McIlroy-Lewis All-Sports Trophy for a record ninth consecutive year, according to the NWC office which released the final numbers today.

Pirate teams tallied 278 points in 2015-16 to outdistance runner-up Pacific Lutheran (213 points).  Nine straight trophy victories surpasses the previous record of eight in a row that Whitworth shared with PLU.  The Lutes won the first eight trophies from 1986 (when the award was inaugurated) through 1993.  Willamette broke PLU’s streak in 1994.

Pirate teams collected ten NWC team championships in 2015-16 – an all-time high for the university in one academic year. Three other Whitworth squads took second or third place in the league standings.  Points are collected based on the final team finish in the conference’s 20 varsity sports seasons.  The Bucs compete in 18 of those sports.

Click here for the official NWC media release and scoring table.

“This award symbolizes the overall success our student-athletes, coaches and staff have had all year,” said Tim Demant, Whitworth’s Director of Athletics.  “Winning the NWC All-Sports Trophy for the ninth year in a row speaks to the strong tradition and history of this program and the overall commitment to excellence shared across the university.”

The NWC All-Sports Trophy recognizes athletic excellence among conference institutions across all fields of competition. It is named in honor of John Lewis, the baseball coach (1947-72), basketball coach (1947-67) and athletics director (1952- 72) at Willamette University; and Jane McIlroy, Linfield College's women's athletics director and physical education professor from 1950- 82 who also coached field hockey (1952-81), basketball, volleyball, softball and tennis.

Whitworth never trailed in the trophy standings, holding the lead after both the fall and winter sports seasons.  The Pirates earned three NWC titles in the fall (women’s cross country, men’s soccer, women’s volleyball), two more in the winter (men’s swimming, men’s basketball) and five in the spring (baseball, softball, men’s golf, men’s and women’s track & field).

Whitworth was runner-up in football and had third place finishes in women’s swimming and women’s basketball (tie). 

Whitworth has now won the McIlroy-Lewis Trophy for nine consecutive years and ten times overall.  The Pirate Athletics Department first claimed the trophy in 2005 before starting the current streak in 2008.

2015-16 Final Whitworth Results – (Team, NWC Finish, Points)
Men’s Cross Country – 4th place (12 points)
Women’s Cross Country – 1st (18)
Men’s Soccer – 1st (18)
Women’s Soccer – 6th-tie (7)
Football – 2nd (16)
Volleyball – 1st (18)
Men’s Swimming – 1st (18)
Women’s Swimming – 3rd (14)
Men’s Basketball – 1st (18)
Women’s Basketball – 3rd-tie (13)
Baseball – 1st (18)
Softball – 1st (18)
Men’s Tennis – 4th (12)
Women’s Tennis – 4th (12)
Men’s Golf – 1st (18)
Women’s Golf – 4th (12)
Men’s Track & Field – 1st (18)
Women’s Track & Field – 1st (18)

2015-16 NWC Sport Winners:
     Whitworth, 10 (Women's Cross Country, Men's Soccer, Women's Volleyball; Men's Swimming, Men's Basketball, Baseball, Men's Golf, Softball, Men's Track & Field, Women's Track & Field)
     George Fox, 3 (Women's Basketball, Women's Golf, Women's Lacrosse)
     Pacific Lutheran, 2 (Women's Swimming, Women's Rowing)
     Lewis & Clark, 1 (Women's Tennis)
     Linfield, 1 (Football)
     Pacific (Ore.), 1 (Women's Lacrosse)
     Puget Sound, 1 (Women's Soccer)
     Whitman, 1 (Men's Tennis)
     Willamette, 1 (Men's Cross Country) 

All-Time McIlroy-Lewis Trophy Wins (by school, since 1986)
15 – Pacific Lutheran
10 – Whitworth
3 – Linfield
1 – Willamette
1 – Puget Sound