11 Pirates Headed to NCAA T&F Championships

Photo by Naji Saker
Photo by Naji Saker

SPOKANE, Wash. – Headlined by the top two seeds in the women's 3,000 meter steeplechase, Whitworth University will send 11 student-athletes to the NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field Championships this week in La Crosse, Wisconsin.

The meet runs Thursday through Saturday at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's Roger Harring Stadium.  Click here for the host school championship website.  There are links to live results and live video on the host website and on the Whitworth track and field schedule.

Eight women and three men will compete for Whitworth at this weekend's meet.

Kayla Leland and Marissa Mount head into the weekend as the first and second seed, respectively, in the women's 3,000 meter steeplechase.  Leland has been a multiple-time All-American in indoor and outdoor track and field, finishing as high as third place in the 1,500 meters at last season's outdoor championships.  Mount is in only her second season of collegiate track and field and began running the steeplechase just this season.  Bailey Scott is also entered in the steeplechase with the 16th seeded time.  Twelve runners will qualify from Thursday's preliminaries into Saturday's final.

Leland will double up and race in the 5,000 meters on Saturday afternoon.  She is seeded third in that event.

Isabel Clark will compete in the heptathlon and the women's javelin on Thursday.  She is seeded third in the heptathlon, which runs on Thursday and Friday, and eighth in the javelin.

Sarah Cool (seeded 12th) will also compete in the heptathlon, while Kayla Brase will triple jump (seeded 16th) for the third year in a row.  The triple jump is on Saturday.

For the first time in school history, Whitworth is sending a 4 by 400 relay to the NCAA Championships.  Cool and Clark will be joined by Kameha Medallada and Sarah Martinez in that event.  The Pirate quartet is seeded 16th in Thursday's preliminary heats.

Andrew Bloom, the 2016 NCAA Division III champion in the javelin, returns in an attempt to reclaim his title.  He is seeded second in the event after finishing third in 2017.  The men's javelin is Friday.

Nick McGill will complete in the decathlon on Thursday and Friday as the 10th seeded athlete.  John-Robert Woolley will race in the preliminary heats of the 400-meter hurdles on Thursday.  He is seeded 17th.

Pirate Qualifiers and Schedule of Events:

Thursday, May 24
All Day – Nick McGill, Decathlon
All Day – Isabel Clark, Heptathlon
All Day – Sarah Cool, Heptathlon
11:45 am CDT / 9:45 am PDT – Kayla Leland, 3000 meter steeplechase prelims
11:45 am CDT / 9:45 am PDT – Marissa Mount, 3000 meter steeplechase prelims
11:45 am CDT / 9:45 am PDT – Bailey Scott, 3000 meter steeplechase prelims
3:00 pm CDT / 1:00 pm PDT – John-Robert Woolley, 400 meter hurdles prelims
4:00 pm CDT / 2:00 pm PDT – Isabel Clark, javelin
5:00 pm CDT / 3:00 pm PDT – Whitworth, 4x400 meter relay

Friday, May 25
All Day – Nick McGill, Decalthlon
All Day – Isabel Clark, Hepthatlon
All Day – Sarah Cool, Hepthatlon
11:00 am CDT / 9:00 am PDT – Andrew Bloom, Javelin

Saturday, May 26
11:00 am CDT / 9:00 am PDT – Kayla Brase, triple jump
11:45 am CDT / 9:45 am PDT – Kayla Leland, 3000 meter steeplechase finals
11:45 am CDT / 9:45 am PDT – Marissa Mount, 3000 meter steeplechase finals
11:45 am CDT / 9:45 am PDT – Bailey Scott, 3000 meter steeplechase finals
2:15 pm CDT / 12:15 pm PDT – John-Robert Woolley, 400 meter hurdles finals
3:25 pm CDT / 1:25 pm PDT – Kayla Leland, 5000 meter finals
4:00 pm CDT / 2:00 pm PDT – Whitworth, 4x400 meter relay finals